Connect with us

Arts, Culture and Sport

Windham Campbell prizes go to Teju Cole, Helon Habila and others

Nigerian-American writer, Teju Cole, and Nigerian novelist Helon Habila are two of nine writers who have been named recipients of the 2015 Windham Campbell Prizes each worth $150,000



Nine writers were announced as recipients of the 2015 Windham Campbell Prizes, each worth $150,000. Among them was the Nigerian-American author of ‘Open City’ and ‘Every Day is for the Thief’, Teju Cole and Nigerian Caine Prize-winning writer Helon Habila (Waiting for an Angel).

Cole was named recipient of the prize for his fiction work alongside other writers like Geoff Dyer (Out of Sheer Rage), John Jeremiah Sullivan (Pulphead) and Edmund de Waal (The Hare with the Amber Eyes).

Helon Habila. Photo: Parresia

Helon Habila. Photo: Parresia

The prizes are named after the writer Donald Windham and his life partner, Sandy M. Campbell.

“Donald Windham recognized that the most significant gift he could give to another writer was time to write,” said Michael Kelleher, director of the program.

The lucrative prizes impose no commitments on the recipients other than that they should attend the awards ceremony and literary festival in September.


Source: LA Times